Awami League finalizes candidates for 69 constituencies

Possibility of new faces in Awami League: 35-40 MPs from seats reserved for women

1 minute, 34 seconds Read

The Awami League left six seats for the three partners of the 14-party alliance – the Workers’ Party, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) and the Jatiya Party (JP). Only two of them reached Parliament.

Awami League sources said the partners would not get a share of the seats reserved for women with their two seats, and 3-4 people from among the alliance partners could be made MLAs from the Awami League quota.

Dilip Barua, general secretary of the Sambodhi Dal, once became a technocrat minister, but he never became a Member of Parliament. This time Awami League also did not give up its seat and possibly his wife can be made MLA from the seats reserved for women.

Afroza Haq, wife of JSD president Hasanul Haq Inu, became an MLA at the end of the last parliament. This time Hasanul Haq Inu lost the election and his party’s general secretary Shireen Akhtar also could not get any seat as per the talks. Awami League also assured to make him MLA from the reserved seat. Awami League sources said that this time either one or both of them can be made MLAs.

JP’s Anwar Hussain Manju lost the January 7 election, and discussions are going on that his wife or a family member may become MLA from the reserved seat. Workers’ Party President Rashid Khan Menon won the election. His wife Lutfun Nesa Khan was an MLA from the reserved seat. It is not yet clear whether he will be made MLA or someone else.

Awami League joint general secretary AFM Bahauddin Naseem told Prothom Alo that the seats reserved for women will be a combination of multiple classes and professions. He said, however, that one’s contribution to the party will be given importance above everything else.

This report appeared in the print and online editions of Prothom Alo and has been rewritten in English by Hasanul Banna.

718 Total Views 1 Views Today
Spread the love

Similar Posts