Awami League now worried about the strategy of 'independent' candidates

Awami League excludes 77 MPs: cause and effect

0 minutes, 38 seconds Read

77 sitting Awami League MPs have lost their party’s nomination for the upcoming 12th parliamentary elections. Sixty of them decided not to contest for votes, while 17 sitting MPs are now contesting as independent candidates after being denied party nominations.

According to Awami League sources, a larger number of MPs have been kept out of party nominations this time compared to the last two parliamentary elections. Surprisingly, the exclusion rate is lower among ministers who are also members of parliament and have faced allegations of corruption, irregularities, embezzlement and abuse of power.

In some constituencies, sitting members of Parliament had to be replaced to introduce stars, cricketers and former bureaucrats. Some were left due to internal party conflicts. Several constituencies have been changed to accommodate central leaders and alumni league leaders.

638 Total Views 1 Views Today
Spread the love

Similar Posts