Expelled BNP leaders face defeat in upazila elections

Expelled BNP leaders face defeat in upazila elections

1 minute, 4 seconds Read

In Harirampur upazila of Manikganj, expelled joint convenor of Upazila Jubo Dal, Jahidur Rahman lost the post of president. In Singair upazila of the district, two candidates for the post of vice president, Tofazzal Hussain and Afroza Rehman, lost.

Sarwar Hussain lost the post of president in Ghoraghat upazila of Dinajpur. He was the vice president of Upazila BNP.

Former upazila BNP vice president Omrah Khan lost in Nasirnagar of Brahmanbaria.

In Meghna upazila of Cumilla, ousted BNP president Ramiz Uddin Londoni lost by a slim margin.

In Faridpur Sadar, two expelled BNP leaders Rauf Un Nabi and AKM Nazmul Islam were candidates for the post of president. Among the six candidates, Rauf stood fourth and Nazmul stood sixth.

Voting took place in 139 upazilas in the first phase on Wednesday. A total of 75 BNP leaders defied the party's decision to contest for the post of president and vice president. Before the elections he was expelled from all posts including primary membership of BNP. The BNP not only expelled party leaders, but the party also distributed leaflets urging people not to vote.

BNP senior joint general secretary Ruhul Kabir Rizvi on Wednesday afternoon claimed that the people of the country rejected the upazila elections and they were not victims of Awami League's fraud.

3738 Total Views 3494 Views Today
Spread the love

Similar Posts