Why not Bangladesh in BRICS?

Why not Bangladesh in BRICS?

0 minutes, 45 seconds Read

Bangladesh has done nothing but file an application to join the BRICS club—Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

However, the policy makers of Bangladesh were keen on getting the membership.

It was thought that if Bangladesh had secured the BRICS membership, it would have added a new dimension to the various geopolitical context ahead of the national elections to be held in January next year.

Six countries have been invited to join BRICS at the 15th BRICS summit in Johannesburg, South Africa on Thursday. These countries are: Iran, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Argentina, Egypt and Ethiopia.

The membership of these countries will be effective from January 1, 2024.

In June, after Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s meeting with South African President Matamela Cyril Ramaposha on the sidelines of an International Labor Organization (ILO) event, Foreign Minister AK Abdul Momen told reporters that Bangladesh would join as a member of BRICS. It is possible

1280 Total Views 2 Views Today
Spread the love

Similar Posts