Awami League now worried about the strategy of 'independent' candidates

Awami League agrees to share 7 seats with partners in 14-party alliance, concerns over independent candidates

0 minutes, 53 seconds Read

Workers’ Party president Rashed Khan Menon did not get the Dhaka-8 constituency, from where the MP has contested elections on the boat symbol three times. Rashed Khan Menon did not file any nomination papers for Dhaka and Awami League nominated its joint secretary AFM Bahauddin Naseem for Dhaka-8 constituency. The Workers’ Party chief filed nomination for Barishal-2 and 3 constituencies. The Awami League is now leaving Barishal-3 for Rashed Khan Memon, where Jatiya Party’s outgoing MLA Golam Kibria is also contesting the January 7 elections. Apart from this, there are also independent candidates from other parties.

Workers Party General Secretary Fazle Hussain Badshah got Rajshahi-2 constituency and Abd Mustaf Lufullah Satkhira-1. Both of them are sitting MLAs on these seats, but independent candidates from Awami League are contesting the elections.

“We are not satisfied with this conversation,” Rashed Khan Menon told Prothom Alo on Friday. We had got two more seats in the last elections. Moreover, Awami League leaders are contesting the elections independently in the constituency where negativity has set in and has become a matter of concern.’

1027 Total Views 1 Views Today
Spread the love

Similar Posts