- Other News

DCC divided in 5 minutes

Despite extensive criticism and protests, the parliament yesterday passed a bill to divide Dhaka City Corporation (DCC) into two parts

Within only 5 minutes they have passed the bill. There have been some key changes to the Local Government (City Corporation) Act, 2009. Now if the president passes the bill it will be effective

The government will appoint administrators soon for DCC North and DCC South after the bill is passed. ECC (Election Commission) would conduct polls within the next 90 days.

DCC has 92 wards of 150 square kilometers. Dhaka South City Corporation gets 56 wards (24-36, 48-53 and 56-92), and Dhaka North City Corporation gets 36 wards (1-23, 37-47, 54 and 55)

Demra, Motijheel, Sobujbagh, Khilgaon, Sutrapoor, Lalbagh and Kotowali will be in the South. Gulshan, Uttora, badda, mohakhali, Tejgaon, East Rampura, mohammadpur, Mirpur,  Kafrul and Pallabi will be in the North

Uttara, Gulshan, Badda, Mohakhali, East Rampura, Tejgaon, Mohammadpur, Mirpur, Pallabi and Kafrul will be under the North while Dhanmondi, Ramna, Motijheel, Sabujbagh, Demra, Khilgaon, Sutrapur, Kotwali and Lalbagh will be under South.

1130 Total Views 1 Views Today

About whitedove

Read All Posts By whitedove